• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Gorilla Glass is a Must Have

ouch1976

Android Enthusiast
Nov 30, 2011
After going from the Droid X to the Rezound, I've learned the importance of having Gorilla Glass on a phone...fortified glass is not the same thing. I've had the Rezound for a few weeks and the screen is already dinged and scratched. As opposed to the GG-packin' Droid X which lasted almost a year with any marks.

I wish all manufacturers used GG.

I'm sure there are people that suggest putting a case or screen protector on the phone when you first get it, but I argue that it would make more sense for the manufacturer to make a better product.

I would rather pay a few extra bucks to the manufacturer for a phone made with GG instead of having to buy an aftermarket screen protector..

I agree that GG should be used. Although my iPod I've been using for about 10 months only has a small nick in the screen from when I stabbed it with a pen, I know it will get scratched sooner or later on accident. It just hasn't run into the situation where it can be scratched yet. I will continue running it naked though.

Cases add too much bulkiness, I'd rather have to be slightly more careful with it. The only cases I would ever consider using is one that adds extra features, such as a kickstand for watching movies, or the case that lets you set the phone on a wireless charging pad.

Upvote 0
Gorilla Glass is one of the first things I check for when considering a new phone. My OG Droid (now in my son's hands) is still scratch free after 27 months. Now my Otterbox Defender for my Bionic has a built-in screen protector, which I appreciate more now that I also bought a used Droid X with a small scratch on the Gorilla Glass.

Upvote 0