• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root HTC Evo Rooting Help with Gingerbread 2.3.5

ok so i want to root it. i forgot to backup my apps so i did. and i started over again. the problem is, is that when i pressed the power+volume down button, it doesnt do anything!! what the heck?!?
Welcome to the forums!!!!!!!
Make sure that you have fastboot off and also that you power off first then do the power off+ vol down thing.

I'm not a pro at this so here are my questions.

1. What is the recovery slot?!
2. I ran the Android Flasher but it said "Unhandled exception has occured in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue."

I'm not a pro at this so here are my questions.

1. What is the recovery slot?!
2. I ran the Android Flasher but it said "Unhandled exception has occured in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue."

The recovery slot is where you choose recovery and then you select the browsing option. You will then need to search for the amon ra file.

Hey guys. I'm a noob at this so could you help me at these problems?!? Plleeassee!?!??

1. I tried using the ADB method and once I got to the command window and typed the following, they said they couldn't find it. What should I do/what's wrong?
2. Once I'm done with that, what do they mean by putting it on my "card"? Do they mean my SD card? If they do mean that, how?
3. Can you give me easier steps? I don't understand the rest of the steps. I did step 1 and I unlocked my bootloader. So now what?

What if I used unrEVOked?

Hey guys. I'm a noob at this so could you help me at these problems?!? Plleeassee!?!??

1. I tried using the ADB method and once I got to the command window and typed the following, they said they couldn't find it. What should I do/what's wrong?