• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root newb having trouble rooting phone with CF-Auto-Root

Please don't roll your eyes :)
Sorry, I'm sure you guys see lots of my type of questions, but I'm new to this and don't have the answers.
My phone is a moto g 1st gen 1032. Updated to android 5.1 yesterday.
whole goal here is to see if I can enable aws.
I have the bootloader unlocked.
I have the device drivers installed on my PC

C:\Program Files (x86)\Minimal ADB and Fastboot>fastboot devices
TA<stuff> fastboot

When I run root_windows.bat I can see on the phone
cmd: oem get_identifier_token
cmd: oem unlock
cmd: oem unlock
cmd: flashing unlock

Then it hangs. Tried this from 2 different computers. Both have the same result. I have left the phone for 10 or 15 min. I believe it should only take a couple of minutes to run.
I downloaded the latest CF-Auto-Root today
CF-Auto-Root-falconumts-falconreteu-xt1032
One of the msgs there is to "Allow OEM unlock" (if present), but I can't find that option.
I have tried with and without usb debugging enabled. That option always reverts back to "off" when I reboot the phone. Don't know if it should or not.

start of fastboot says
AP Fastboot Flash Mode (S)
41.1A (sha-80481ae, 2015-04-10 14:30:28)
CPU: MSM8226 CS
eMMC: 8GB Sandisk RV=06 PV=07 TY=17
DRAM: 1024MB Hynix S4 SDRAM DIE=4Gb
Battery OK
Device is UNLOCKED. Status Code: 3
Transfer Mode: USB Connected

I have no idea what other info you need to hellp me out.

Do you have the SIM unlocked XT1032, or is it a carrier locked device? If it's unlocked then why don't you just follow the directions on Moto's web site? Doing it manually is far better then using a batch file. Once the bootloader is unlocked just flash TWRP recovery and then flash SuperSU to root it. Cfautoroot isn't needed for our phones if you can unlock the boatloader.