• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Reset for More Speed? Or not?

D

Deleted User

I have an HTC Incredible S. On the whole I like the phone but it seems to be getting slower and slower, often unresponsive for 10 seconds or more after tapping something such as opening the pic viewer or browser.

Would a factory reset drastically speed it back up again like new, or not?

And are there any risks involved, such as getting locked out of the thing? I have a basic 0123 password for the sim supplied by a local supplier, I don't know any other password for anything else.

I have Lookout installed, which apparently has backed up my contacts (I'm not so sure about applications or settings or anything like that?) In theory I can restore them but I've never used it before. Anyone used them? Can you trust it?

I know many of you are hardcore types who cheerfully root or whatever and I probably seem like a baby noob getting anxious over a factory reset.. but hey, for all its faults and lagging I like the phone and don't want to brick it.

So a recap:

Will it make it speedy again - or not?

Could I end up locked out or anything?

Anyone ever used Lookout before and does it work?

Also, would I lose my HTC Sense and/or Android updates?

Thanks!

SS

Hello SS!
When you factory reset, you will lose all data/contacts/apps etc.
I highly recommend saving your contacts to google/gmail instead of the phone memory. That way you will never lose contacts in the event of a reset.
You will not lose Sense or any software updates.
Yes, it should speed up your device, and you shouldn't get locked out of the phone.
I have not used Lookout so I can't comment on that :rolleyes:

Have you tried a simple reboot, or a battery pull to see if that helps with the lag?

Upvote 0