• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [ROM] CM7 Community Style

dsmryder

Android Expert
May 28, 2011
NE Florida
This is the start of what I hope is the continuation of CM7 for our Motorola Triumph.
I hope all of those who wanted to learn will chime in early and can help bring new life to this ROM.

Goals:
  1. Bring stability to the code by forking all of the work needed to build . Done​
  2. Customize to have a respectable base by witch to theme off of.​
  3. Find bugs to make the ROM even more stable.
I will be busy doing my start up side of things. I have never tried to work on my own project before. I have no plans to change my phone for the next two years. After that, I think the mid range phone with it's six cores and 802.11m and 32GB of ROM space running android 10.whatever. will be too much of a draw.​

Since this is a DEV area and this is listed as "community" I figured I would through in my two cents. I don't want anyone to think I am picking on any DEV. These are just my two cents which could be rusted and wrong.

My thoughts on Community Goals is there should be one goal and that should be building from CM7 unedited source code. While this may be very difficult to resolve I think it is possible. Let me me explain.

After banging on the GB 2.3.4 ROM for a few days and reading up on RIL there is no reason we should have special RIL edits to the code. After looking at code from https://github.com/inferiorhumanorgans which is a port of CM7 they are not using any special calls for RIL.java and their device is on Virgin Mobile. They also released multiple device files to support multiple vendors Verizon, Metro PCS and Sprint PCS. Which is the same thing with CM7 did, one code to support all the vendors.