• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help 5.1 update problem, OTA and sideload

pplante19

Lurker
Hi everyone. I'm not that good with all this but today I received a notification on my Nexus 10 for update 5.1. I tried to apply it and it failed, I ended up with an Android logo on the back, an exclamation mark and a 'No command' prompt.

My device is unlocked and rooted, so then I used SuperSU to make a 'Full Unroot' and tried again, same message. I checked before and after with 'Root Checker' and I was rooted, after the 'Full unroot' I was indeed unrooted.

Then I tried again with OTA while not being rooted and it seemed to work, it started to 'update' in a way and then bam, Android on the back but this time, it was saying 'Error!'. So I can't get OTA updates anymore I guess.

Then I tried Nexus Root Toolkit v2.0.4, like I did when I rooted. I tried 'Sideload Update' and followed the instructions. Everything seemed fine up until I got this error message ;

Verifying current system...
"/system/bin/install-recovery.sh" has unexpected contents.
E:Error in /sideload/package.zip
(Status 7)

Installation aborted.

I downloaded the update file twice since maybe the file was corrupted from the download. I followed all guidelines, but nothing works either way. Someone has a solution?

I also have my Nexus 5 and Nexus 7 2013 to apply, I hope I don't get errors like theses. I rooted the same way for my 3 devices...

Thanks a lot!

Just to let you know everyone that I've managed to bypass all this without have to wipe out my device, it all kept my files, settings, apps, etc.