• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root "Accidentally" installed 2.3.5, now unrooted

So, I inadvertently installed 2.3.5 on my rooted x2. I had intended to flash to Eclipse, but life got busy, never got around to it. Then I accidentally hit the wrong button and installed the 2.3.5 that was sitting on my sd, waiting for me to get around to the preceding steps. No issues running 2.3.5.

I finally decided I wasn't getting around to flashing a new rom, and I'd just delete some bloatware and call it a day. But now it seems I'm not rooted - and when I tried running Pete's 1-click root, it won't work and says it may be the version I'm running is to blame. I'm no great techie, and I haven't been following the forums lately, so I'm a little lost.

I guess what I need to do is roll back to 2.3.4, but I'm not really clear on how I do that... Unless there's a way to root in 2.3.5? A simple fix would be best. I might even be willing to factory reset if I can save my settings from a few programs first.. Halp?

I would try this guide found here on XDA-Developers to unroot.

As far as going back to 2.3.4 you will have to perform what's called an SBF and instructions to do so can be found here. You will lose your data but it's the only way to go back.

Good luck!

Thanks, that's the info i needed. Should I try to root from 2.3.5 first so i can do a titanium backup, or should i just say farewell to my data? I mean, I can probably export a lot of it manually, but i'm sure to miss something..