• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

ADW.Launcher works well the the Captivate

Dennis_Bham

IMO, those of you that want to try different Home Launchers should load Home Switcher and then try ADW.Launcher along with Launcher Pro. Home Switcher allow you to easily switch between the different launchers.

I'm new to android and I'm sure it's a personal preference thing to a large degree, but after playing with Launcher Pro (Free version) and with ADW.Launcher, I find ADW.Launcher very feature rich and my Captivate is really snappy.

I noticed a pretty good increase in speed over LauncherPro and my battery life appears to be better as well. I'm monitoring it for a few days before I make a final determination.

I noticed a pretty good increase in speed over LauncherPro and my battery life appears to be better as well. I'm monitoring it for a few days before I make a final determination.

You're not the first person to mention better battery life with ADW.Launcher over LauncherPro... I'm really curious about this and I'm testing it out myself. It's the weekend now though, so work-week testing will have to resume Monday, haha.

I'm absolutely amazed how this has taken away the Lag on the captivate. I feel like ADW.Launcher does a much better job showing off the hardware on the phone. There are a couple things that I like better on LauncherPro(such as the 3 section dock), but I will gladly live without them for the performance boost.

Is there a way to have the gmail application indicate new messages in ADW similar to the way I could in Launcher?

Is there a way to have the gmail application indicate new messages in ADW similar to the way I could in Launcher?

I'm wondering this as well. I did some digging around the interwebz but I can't seem to find an answer. I've seen a couple posts where people asked that question but didn't receive an answer.:(