• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root franco.Kernel Guide - For those new to kernels

CYNICALifornia

Android Enthusiast
About this guide

First and foremost, I am not responsible for the franco.Kernel. All the glory goes to Franco. Second, I am no expert. The information in this guide is based on information I have gathered online and my own experience. This guide is fallible.

I began using the franco.Kernel as soon as I got my Nexus 7 and really like it. However, the kernel offered a lot of options that I didn't use simply because I didn't know what they were or how to use them. I looked for a guide like this but could not find one. In hopes of helping others get started and to make a contribution to the forum community that has helped me so much, I present this humble attempt at a guide.

Any corrections, comments, or additions are welcome.

What is a kernel?

A kernel is the lowest level of software on your device. It acts as the go between for your device's hardware and the Android operating system. It controls functions like:
-CPU speed
-GPU speed
-Camera

Why would I want a customized kernel?

Customized kernels provide modifications and (often) optimizations made by the kernels author. They often also allow for customization of some of your hardware's functions. The franco.Kernel provides these benefits in a very stable package and easy to use companion app.

What do you need

For the sake of this guide you will need:
-A rooted Nexus 7
-The paid franco.Kernel updater app installed
-Grit

If you don't know what rooted means or how to do it, click here.

We are using the paid app because it has more options, and because it supports the kernel author and his work. Pay to play friends.