• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

HE-AAC (AAC+) in Android

fightingirish

Anyone else here using AAC+ audio files on their phones?

I'm not talking about Pandora and various webcasters streaming in the format (have had good results with it), but encoding music in the format.

For those of you wondering, AAC+ is a newer format that enables very high quality at very low bitrates. I decided to do a little experimenting. I encoded some files in the format (64K HE-AACv2), for phone playback. I figured I'd try to conserve SD card storage (currently, most of my music files are encoded at 192K standard AAC (using a M4A container), which sounds better than MP3 at that bitrate -- again, I have a lot of music and space is a concern). So, I started playing the AAC+ files using Poweramp. Stuttered more often, drove CPU usage through the roof! Completely froze up the phone. I noticed I did have the EQ on. Played back with no problems on stock music player, and seemed a bit better on Poweramp with EQ off.

Anyone else have any experience with this file format? Any suggestions? Should I change the container format from AAC to MP4?

Currently Froyo on LG Optimus, BTW.

Have you tried Vorbis ogg format? I encode my music to this and the size is about half of mp3 at same bitrate. The most important, it's free format and natively supported by Android.

The last time I played around with ogg was many, many years ago (around the time it came out). I was turned off by it at the time because it made the music sound very weird. I'm sure things have changed since. Guess it was time to put it to the test again.