• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Help: music stops playing in background

I'm new to Android so forgive what I'm sure is a simply question but the music player on my Atrix. Currently when playing music it stops about 2 minutes after the screen turns off (set to 1 minute). Pandora keeps playing but I can't find the setting to allow the stock player to keep playing the background. I've made sure the app is not on auto kill and there doesn't seem to be an obvious setting. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

I have had the same problem too on my Atrix. I have tried downloading the Google beta player and the problem still exists. I have all my music on my SD card. Any help?

I don't know if it's the same problem, but when I'm listening to shoutcast via the music player, if I lock my screen it shuts off after about 45 seconds. If I set my screen to never timeout it plays awesome. This sucks because of obvious battery implications, but also makes no sense because the auto end list is blank. :-\

Ialso have this problem and I am trying the suggestions in this thread:

Music Player Apparently stops playing - xda-developers

We'll see how it goes....
The thread solved it for me!
In particular, this post:
Hi, i just brought Atrix few day ago, and i having same problem with you all, and i try it many time , now i finally fix it.

1.Go to your advanced task manager to remove auto-end with the Music , Gallery and original phone Task Manager from the list.

2.Go to your phone original Task Manager to remove auto-end with the Music , Gallery and advanced Task Manager from the list.
which was derived from earlier posts in the XDA-developers forum.

I don't have a ATK or ATM or anything like that, so I just removed the "gallery" from auto-kill in my Task-Manager (the one that came with the phone).