• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Multitouch keyboard for froyo

Awesome. I wonder if this will be as good as using Swype. It's been pissing me off lately inserting totally wrong words and making me correct it, taking me more time than it would have taken to use the stock software keyboard or physical keyboard.

Edit: Hmm, not letting me copy/backup those 2 files with my PC using the SDK/adb. I'm a noob at using it though, so I'm sure I have to tell it to use su permissions or something somehow because it's telling me "cp: can't stat '/system/app/LatinIME.apk': No such file or directory" for that file and "cp: can't create '/system/lib/libjni_latinime.so.bak': Read-only file system" for the .so file. I want to get a backup of the original before I potentially screw them up by pushing the new files. Is he not telling us something or assuming we know what we're doing with those commands on his OP?

Edit 2: Just verified that there isn't a "LatinIME.apk" in that directory, but there's a "LatinIMEGoogle.apk" in there. Is this the file that needs to be copied/replaced? I wouldn't think he typo'd it..?

Edit 3: I got it now. I just copied the .so file with root explorer to my SD card instead and the pushed the 2 new files to the phone like he said. Now I still have the original keyboard as an input option though and when i try to use it, it FC (assuming because it can't use that same .so file as the multitouch kb). I'm sure if I take that "LatinIMEGoogle.apk" out of the apps directory, it'll get rid of it though.

This kb definitely seems more responsive than stock, but the multitouch doesn't seem to be working on mine. If I try to press 2 keys at the same time, it only registers one of them..?

Upvote 0
I absolutely LOVE Swype, but I'm always looking for improvements in functionality. Would someone mind sharing what this "multitouch keyboard" does, or how it differs from the stock keyboard?