• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help My phone just died by committing OS suicide

Alright so here's what happened:

Its a Sunday morning. I'm not a church goer but I do like my little dab of Abel in the morning.

Anywho, I'm using my phone (Acer Liquid Z320 (i know but who cares)) and my screen went black.

I'm thinking: "hey maybe my phone just had enough and wanted some sleep".

So I decide to turn it back on and my phone started up.

Pretty normal amirite? Yes and No.

My phone is now taking 15 minutes to startup which got me bamboozled.

After the startup I notice my background is now at it's factory default.

I notice that my phone is asking to link a google account to setup the phone.

My phone is asking for a new PASSWORD.

All the apps are in factory default.

I realized what just happened. My phone reset itself.

So I'm thinking hey this is not that bad right?

I stored everything on my google drive so all I lost is my app data.

Everything is going to be right? Right?

Nope.

I look at my phone memory and I see I only have 100 kb of space left (out of 8 GB) and when I uninstall all the extra factory default apps, I only have 100 mbs left even though I clearly uninstalled 300 mbs worth of apps.

I had an 16 GB SD card plugged in and I notice that there is now only a total of 4 GB available space.
Meaning that the other 12 GB is unrecognizable.

When I turn on my WiFi there is no wifi networks nearby even though there is like 15-20 networks around me.

So In Summary:
1. My Phone reseted randomly but did not erase my old data on the Hard Drive and SD Card.
2. My old data is unrecognizable and not being seen as actual data.
ex. I have 5 GB of available space on the hard drive and I used 4.5 GB of space. My phone resets but now recognizes the available space on my hard drive is 0.5 GBs instead of 5 GB
3. My wifi doesn't work. Maybe driver broke when rebooting.
4. My OS is now a potato