• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Non-root Firewall and VPN

Fierio

Lurker
Hello, developers.
I am a student wanting to create an app which will run as a non-root firewall (netguard) and then route to one's choice VPN provider (openVPN). I haven't been able to try, yet, as the teachers want me to find out why nobody has done it yet before getting it started on how we think we would do it.
I have heard that the main issue with doing this is IP tables will take long to do, and thus isn't worth it.
Is this accurate and if so, why would this be the issue stopping me?

I imagine that this would work, if i were able to just do both of the previously mentioned app functions on one app,

All those non-root firewall apps are using a really clever workaround, a localized VPN. It's not a matter of relying on any VPN service on the Internet, it's all contained within your phone. There is no option to choose outbound servers because they're not involved in any way, the VPN service is bouncing back to your phone from within your phone.
As for iptables, that's an integral part of the Android kernel so it requires root access. That's why root-required firewall apps like APWall+ can use iptables while non-root apps like NetGuard, Mobiwol, and NoRoot Firewall (just do a search for 'non root firewall' in the Play Store for more options) have to instead use an internalized VPN as a substitute. Regarding it taking longer when using iptables, it does require a learning curve and no one will learn all the rules and syntax right away. Relying on iptables, already a part of the operating system itself, makes for a more expansive and functional firewall than using a VPN kluge, but for most consumers rooting isn't a factor so that sets the tone for viable options on what kind of firewall you want to develop.