• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Textra MMS fail sending

Kayg519

Lurker
Apr 26, 2019
Pictures will not send threw this app. I tried sending them to different contacts and still getting message failed. Textra MMS won't send. Is there something in the settings I should change? I am fairly new to the text messaging app. Anyon know how to solve this issue? please help!

Can you receive MMS? If not I'd suggest checking your phone's APN settings (will be in your mobile data settings somewhere). Some carriers use a separate APN for MMS, so it's perfectly possible to have data working but MMS not.

Carriers usually have maximum sizes for photos, and won't send anything bigger, but Textra should have settings for that. But you could try reducing the maximum size in Textra's settings and seeing whether it will send then.

(It is literally years since I used MMS: here in the UK SMS has been free for many years (or included in such huge numbers it may as well be) but the carriers still think they can charge massively for MMS, and so nobody I know ever uses it. If people want to send a photo they use WhatsApp or similar instead - cheaper, less hassle, and can send at higher quality).

Reactions: ocnbrze and tube517
Upvote 0
On current version I do not see Legacy or System options in Settings. I have been back and forth with Verizon and with Textra about this and unfortunately it looks like (at least in my case) it is Android that is causing the issue. I can send/receive MMS in the stock Messenger just fine but Textra will fail (Timeout: Can't get MMS) or send the message several hours later whereas the stock app goes through instantly.