• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Warning for Go SMS users: Check your data usage!

SizzFLair

Lurker
Background: I've been using go sms for about 2 years now (free version) on my Note 2 and now the Note 4. Used it over the stock sms app for the group text capability. I'm on AT&T's shared data program of 20GB with my family members under my account. I use the majority of the data for the group, but we use about 10GB per month on average. I always hop onto wifi at home and so does everyone else. While I'm on data, I mostly surf the internet, check emails, facebook, and watch youtube videos.

Issue: Being in the Army, I was out in the field for training for a little over 2 weeks. During this time, I used more data than usual. At the end of the exercise, I noticed that I used up 13GB of data on my own, which was odd since I didn't really use THAT much data. I watched youtube videos, listen to pandora, and browse the web on my freetime so I figured it might have added up.

Last night at 1:34AM, I get a message from AT&T saying that I'm at 90% of my 20GB data. Then after a heavy night of drinking at my friend's house, I passed out. While I was asleep, the phone went off a couple of times. I figured it was just my ex-girlfriends drunk texting me, so I ignored them.... haha

As I finally got up and checked my phone, AT&T was blowing my phone up about overage data usage. It warned me at 5:45AM that I used up 100% of my 20GB. Then starting at 7:14AM, I received multiple messages saying that I used up 100% of 1GB and that I was charged $15. This happened 4 times! I immediately checked my at&t usage and I was almost about to pass 5GB of overage data ($75 extra charge!). [Screenshot](http://imgur.com/ucO3LGv).