• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Advantages and Disadvantages of rooting

TDOW

Hi everyone.

This is my second Android phone, I just upgraded from the Optimus V, and ran it stock.

So far I am absolutely loving the EVO V (just the fact that I don't have to uninstall half my apps because of low space has me over the moon!).

I was wondering what advantages there would be to rooting. I am not a total techie, and am kind of nervous about rooting the phone.

I welcome any input.

Thank you!

Moved this thread to the All Things Root section of this device. :)

Well, I am not a pro or savvy at rooting, but some of the benefits are:

Being able to remove the bloatware and carrier apps

Flashing different ROM's giving your device a whole new look and feel

Some of the things to be aware of are

Possibly bricking the device if the rooting steps are not followed

Rooting voids the warranty

There's more, but I can't remember what they are. I'm sure the members here can better assist you than I. :)

Advantages: Running other roms, deleting bloatwares, phone enhancements to sound, camera, etc.

Disadvantages: Voids your warranty. (Just don't tell them you root), risk of bricking. (rare but it happens).

My phone is currently a brick, waiting on Virgin to send me a replacement.

Rooting doesn't void your warranty, screwing up the phone while rooting will, the phone is covered for manufacturer's defects, if your power button stops working that has nothing to do with the software, whether rooted or not. It's very difficult to brick this phone but let's say that you flashed a wrong file and the phone doesn't work, that's user error, not a defective device. :thumbup:
OB