What on earth happened here!!
( galaxy s2 / jellybean)
Where did all my contacts go!!
This morning, a mysterious notification appeared on my phone, in regards to synching my contacts - to google I imagine. An exclamation mark inside the synching symbol appeared At the top of my phone.
Opening the notification, I learnt that I was being informed that 6700 contacts is too many to delete without confirmation (something along those lines anyway).
I was given 3 options.
Either CONTINUE with the deletion; CANCEL the deletion procedure; or something like decide later. To be honest I cannot be 100 % sure of the exact wording of any option other than CANCEL and go back to how my phone was.
What made my phone start a deletion of my contacts?!
So, I tried several times to press the cancel option.
But still i had same notification appearing.
It was taking no notice of my cancel option.
So i turned the phone off.
And now I have no Contacts !!
What the hell has my phone done?
I cannot find the contacts folder on my phone anymore ( perhaps im looking in the wrong place - where exactly)
Why did it want to delete.
Why was it synching?
What was it synching with?
Google?
ALL my contacts are google contacts?
Why am i not being given the option to restore my google contacts from google?
Have my google contacts on google servers etc also been deleted?
Why?
How can this be possible when I gave no authorisation for this to happen and attempted to cancel any operation that might do this.
I would imagine that my contacts on my phone are always being synched with my google contacts, thats how ive set the synching settings.
All my contacts on my phone are google contacts so that they are backed up, in case my phone is lost/ stolen etc, obviously.
Yes i do have another back up for contacts but this is over 5 months old, so its not ideal.
Has my phone contracted a virus?
HELP!
( galaxy s2 / jellybean)
Where did all my contacts go!!
This morning, a mysterious notification appeared on my phone, in regards to synching my contacts - to google I imagine. An exclamation mark inside the synching symbol appeared At the top of my phone.
Opening the notification, I learnt that I was being informed that 6700 contacts is too many to delete without confirmation (something along those lines anyway).
I was given 3 options.
Either CONTINUE with the deletion; CANCEL the deletion procedure; or something like decide later. To be honest I cannot be 100 % sure of the exact wording of any option other than CANCEL and go back to how my phone was.
What made my phone start a deletion of my contacts?!
So, I tried several times to press the cancel option.
But still i had same notification appearing.
It was taking no notice of my cancel option.
So i turned the phone off.
And now I have no Contacts !!
What the hell has my phone done?
I cannot find the contacts folder on my phone anymore ( perhaps im looking in the wrong place - where exactly)
Why did it want to delete.
Why was it synching?
What was it synching with?
Google?
ALL my contacts are google contacts?
Why am i not being given the option to restore my google contacts from google?
Have my google contacts on google servers etc also been deleted?
Why?
How can this be possible when I gave no authorisation for this to happen and attempted to cancel any operation that might do this.
I would imagine that my contacts on my phone are always being synched with my google contacts, thats how ive set the synching settings.
All my contacts on my phone are google contacts so that they are backed up, in case my phone is lost/ stolen etc, obviously.
Yes i do have another back up for contacts but this is over 5 months old, so its not ideal.
Has my phone contracted a virus?
HELP!