Curious Mew
Newbie
Hi, I was wondering at what point does an app decide to run and access the permissions on your phone and/or browser? Does it begin accessing that information directly after the app is installed, or only when the app is running?
I have a couple apps on my phone that require FINE GPS location, and I don't exactly love the idea of being tracked everywhere I go by a potentially malicious app. I can understand permissions being allowed to run while the app is on, but is this true in the case of being closed and/or turned off?
Since making the switch from Firefox to Google Chrome (and an Android phone), I have suddenly came up against permission laden apps everywhere I go. It wasn't until downloading an Android app for Dictionary.com, that I have been more cautious about stupid apps ever since.
The app I just mentioned (a solid dictionary IMO) has this strange permission for accessing your GPS used by its 'Nearby' feature; which pins your most-recent searched word on a world map for others to see. I am assuming this information is still accessible to others when the app is closed.. though it really shouldn't be. If I want to search the word promiscuous just for kicks, I don't exactly want everyone in the world to see that.
Any thoughts or answers are appreciated, thanks
I have a couple apps on my phone that require FINE GPS location, and I don't exactly love the idea of being tracked everywhere I go by a potentially malicious app. I can understand permissions being allowed to run while the app is on, but is this true in the case of being closed and/or turned off?
Since making the switch from Firefox to Google Chrome (and an Android phone), I have suddenly came up against permission laden apps everywhere I go. It wasn't until downloading an Android app for Dictionary.com, that I have been more cautious about stupid apps ever since.
The app I just mentioned (a solid dictionary IMO) has this strange permission for accessing your GPS used by its 'Nearby' feature; which pins your most-recent searched word on a world map for others to see. I am assuming this information is still accessible to others when the app is closed.. though it really shouldn't be. If I want to search the word promiscuous just for kicks, I don't exactly want everyone in the world to see that.
Any thoughts or answers are appreciated, thanks
