• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Calling all A70 Owners(Part-1)..Need Advice Buying A70

echo9

Feb 16, 2012
India
Hi all,

I need an Android smartphone, my budget being a max of ~7.5k
I just narrowed down on Micromax A70.

But as I am seeing new issues here on forum such as touch screen responding in funny ways, some part of the screen not responding and battery backup being too low etc.

I need to know from all of you..that:

-how really good is battery backup? before and after installing any mods/stock roms etc.

-any good ROMS, mods for a new A70? upgrading to 2.3? how realy well is it? :|

-I am an IT Pro and would like to work on porting cyanogen mod (CM v.6/7) onto A70. What are my chances? Has anyone tried it before?how much success..? etc.

- I have already contacted a guy in "U madforum" (cyanogen is actively developed by 2 forums across WWW; 1:UMAD TEAM, 2:XDA) and he is showing interest in developing a cyanogen port for A70. (I have told him the length and breadth of the cruelty done to us (yes, i read it all on fb and here.. including techenclave) by mmx + BYD :/ (..mofos..))

I would be needing your valuable suggestions+help. And I need existing devs to support me, support that guy @ mad forum so that we all (for now "you all" :D) can get a CM onto A70's :cool:

Final thoughts:

-should I really buy A70? I read that samsung will be releasing Samsung galaxy mini 2 which is supposed to be economical(around 10k). (though it has a AMOLED (guess a super AMOLED) on it :D+ 800mhz proc)
and I can wait for it. :p

- 2 other phones in my consideration:
> Vodafone 858 Smart (rebranded Huawei u8160)
> Huawei u8150 (has a 3mp cam :) rest similar to vodafone smart)

(really SORRY MODS but I need to ask my Indian bros here..a similar thread posted by me at the main "Android Lounge" managed to get 140+ views but "0" replies so..suk it up, be good and let me post here in a gist :D )