• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Can this phone be "trusted"

sleemie

Jun 17, 2009
Isn't this Acer's first attempt at a phone? I know it's got nice specs and from what I've heard they make decent computers, but aren't they an unkown when it comes to phones?

Everyone seems to be jumping on the bandwagon for this one, do they know something I don't?

I'm not suggesting it's going to be a piece of crap, but others seem to have already made up their minds that if it's the right price and it initially performs up to expectations and gets good reviews for how it functions that that's the phone for them and they'll have no reservations about how it will hold up.

'They are unknown when it comes to phones' ?? Apple were also unknowns when they did the 1st iPhone....not that i'm suggesting Acer and Apple in the same class....but you get the idea.
I've been testing this unit for well over 2 months now and personally i've seen worse devices in the market. It definately isnt a flop if thats what vibes your gettin at. Priced right and they can be very popular.

Upvote 0
Good point! Although from what I remember I don't think people went hog wild on the iphone until the price came down a bit.

You've been testing this unit?? A liquid? I won't ask how you got your hands on one, but if you wanna volunteer that information...:D

I'm not suggesting it would be a flop, I'm just saying that they have no history of making phones so the quality of it is a big unknown, YET it seems lots of people have already decided that's the phone for them without giving it a period of "let's see how it holds up" kinda thing. I guess there's no fun in that, though. I mean if it ends up being as nice as they say and it comes to the right carrier, I'll probably jump on it also cuz I'm TIRED of waiting for the "right" phone to come along. I mean if this or the passion aren't THE phone for me, I may just have to go jump on a Droid.