• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Data recovery if I root

timhenn

Lurker
I'm not an android expert. My wife somehow hit factory reset and wiped out really, really important things on her phone. Yes, they were really important and not backed up (thats on me).

I've learned all about data recovery software, rooting the phone and I'm about to learn about unlocking a secure boot loader....if thats even possible. I think my chances of recovering pictures and files is pretty low. But before I try to figure out how to unlock the secure boot loader, cause the Verizon g935V has no auto root support, can someone tell me if I manage to root the phone and run data recovery, I will be able to retrieve pictures and edge memos? I've already got 4+ hours reading about how to root the phone but stuck because I believe the boot loader on this phone is locked.

Any information appreciated.

[GALLERY=media, 695]Build-and-Baseband by timhenn posted Jun 24, 2020 at 8:59 PM[/GALLERY]
[GALLERY=media, 694]SecureCheckFail-recovery by timhenn posted Jun 24, 2020 at 8:59 PM[/GALLERY]
[GALLERY=media, 696]OdinFail by timhenn posted Jun 24, 2020 at 8:59 PM[/GALLERY]

sorry but rooting will not bring back deleted data. i know nothing as far as data recovery programs and how they work. i have rooted many devices and never really come across anything that suggests that you can pull deleted data on a rooted phone. what kind of data are we talking about? photos, as @Dannydet is suggesting? text message? emails? downloaded files?

sorry but rooting will not bring back deleted data. i know nothing as far as data recovery programs and how they work. i have rooted many devices and never really come across anything that suggests that you can pull deleted data on a rooted phone. what kind of data are we talking about? photos, as @Dannydet is suggesting? text message? emails? downloaded files?