• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root EVO 4G LTE RUUs

I am stuck with no access to anything. No Recovery, No Bootloader. The phone will only reset and return to the Black Screen with silver HTC font and four error symbols in the 4 corners. I can get the phone to recognize in Fastboot on my PC but I have no knowledge of use within there. When I can actually see the Fastboot Flash Screen by manipulating the USB cable into it a little..it shows
[2] Recovery - OK
[3] System - Fail UZ
[4] Splash - Ok
(and it continues on with OK until the radio)
at the very bottom it says
Image Unzipping Fail!
Update Fail!
From the RUU Utility I have
ERROR[152]: IMAGE UPDATE ERROR
The read me only specifies:
ERROR [155~159]: IMAGE ERROR
One of these error messages will appear when you use the incorrect RUU to update and the image file size is larger than the Flash ROM size. In this case, download the correct RUU version and try again.

I am using
RUU_JEWEL_CL_ICS_40_Sprint_WWE_1.12.651.2_Radio_1.02.11.0423_2_NV_SPCS_2.28_003_release_257970_signed.exe
from http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-lte-all-things-root/573743-evo-4g-lte-ruus.html

Out of desperation I have used the RUU_JEWEL_DD_ICS_40_HTCCN_CHS_CT_1.27.1401.1_R4_Radio_1.08.40.0601_NV_CT_2.35_001_release_265471_signed.exe file but it wont even begin because of a Model ID conflict.

the last thing I am going to do my self is try the other one
RUU_JEWEL_CL_ICS_40_Sprint_WWE_1.13.651.1_Radio_1.02.12.0427_NV_SPCS_2.28_003_release_259183_signed

To give you a heads up on what happened. I was doing quite a bit of work in sucession..

I re-rooted with Regraw's Tool
S-Off with Lazy Panda,
then edited the Bootloader Screen with Regraw's tool,