• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Is Google actually designed for backing up the Android devices?

louis2008

Well-Known Member
Hi,
I have an Android phone, which is not Samsung and is cheap.

Most of the time I will want to backup the photos so that the photos would be on the phone and at the same time in case my phone is lost or stolen I will be able to get back the photos to my phone.

I have been trying with Google Photo.

Every time I take a picture it would automatically back up to the Google Photo, which is nice.

However, the problem is --- It does not look like doing any sync..

For example,
If I delete the photo on the phone, it does not automatically delete on the Google side.
If I delete the photo on the Google side with my PC, it does not automatically delete the photos on my phone.

OK, it does not really matter so much.

However, if I login the Google account with another Android phone without any photos, it does not do any sync work to download the photos to my phones.

It is very important for me to keep a copy of the photos on my mobile devices. It's very important.

I really wish to know , how can I let Google make a copy of the photos to the phone automatically or whenever I want?>
 
If I delete the photo on the phone, it does not automatically delete on the Google side.
If I delete the photo on the Google side with my PC, it does not automatically delete the photos on my phone.

However, if I login the Google account with another Android phone without any photos, it does not do any sync work to download the photos to my phones.
>

It should sync deletions of you delete using the photos app or photos on a PC. If you delete using a file manager on the phone it should not delete from the photos storage.

When you use another phone and add your google account to it, you need to do this in settings - accounts and also set the account to be used within the photos app settings. Is that what you are doing?
 
It should sync deletions of you delete using the photos app or photos on a PC. If you delete using a file manager on the phone it should not delete from the photos storage.

When you use another phone and add your google account to it, you need to do this in settings - accounts and also set the account to be used within the photos app settings. Is that what you are doing?



If you delete using a file manager on the phone, what did you mean??

I've always installed Google Photo apps downloaded from the Google Play and I've logged in it with my Google account....

When I delete a photo on the phone ,I always delete it from the photo album of the phone. I don't dig into the file manager
 
By file manager, girolez means the My Files app built in on the phone, or a similar app you can download. This is designed this way so that you don't create inadvertent deletions which you might not be able to restore.
 
When you delete an image from photos on your PC do you see this?

2016-06-11.png
 
Back
Top Bottom