• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Market Question

PGP_Protector

Well-Known Member
I've installed a few of the Free apps from the market, but when I Uninstall the application from my android that was installed via the market, It will show up under "My Apps" in the Market as "FREE".

How do I clear that from the list of old installed apps?
I've tried Uninstalling Market.
History Eraser.
Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Market -> Clear Data
Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Market -> Clear Cache

But the Old Apps will still show up on the list.
And it appears to be semi random. Some apps will be removed from the list, others will persist for days.
 
I've installed a few of the Free apps from the market, but when I Uninstall the application from my android that was installed via the market, It will show up under "My Apps" in the Market as "FREE".

How do I clear that from the list of old installed apps?
I've tried Uninstalling Market.
History Eraser.
Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Market -> Clear Data
Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Market -> Clear Cache

But the Old Apps will still show up on the list.
And it appears to be semi random. Some apps will be removed from the list, others will persist for days.
I noticed the same thing... well, not that it was persisting for days, but that they pop up in my apps section after I have uninstalled them. It seems to be related, not to your phone's memory, but to your market account.


Have you noticed that now if you wipe your phone, or get a new android phone, and then log into your old gmail market account for 'the first time' on a clean phone, your market apps section will be filled with all of the apps that you had before the wipe (not downloaded, but listed nonetheless)? It's kind of like a reminder of what you had, giving you the option to download them each all over again in case you forgot to write them down before you did the wipe or switched to the new phone. It's a convenience thing.


Anyways, I would guess that this residual market link that remains after an uninstallation is an annoying glitch, or intended effect... for whatever reason. One of the many "great" things that have come with the new market... though honestly I do not like the new market.
 
Back
Top Bottom