• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help MyTouch 3g Slide - ESPRIMG says main file older version then fails

docp999

Lurker
A friend has a MyTouch 3g Slide that one day stopped loading up. It would sit at the MyTouch logo and never load. He asked me to take a look at it as I have some experience rooting phones and working on android devices. Here is what I have done and what the current status is:

I have installed the SDK, PDANet, and HTC Sync on my computer. I have also attempted to load the ESPRIMG.ZIP file on the SD card and then used fastboot to try and load it. I get an error that says that the "Main Version is Older! Update failed!" and then only lets me reboot it.

Then I went into recovery with the USB unplugged, and then wiped the cache and did a factory reset. The phone now gets past the MyTouch logo after about 10 minutes and then gives an error that says "System process not responding. Wait or Force Close" You cannot click either button.

I booted back into recovery using the method of going into fastboot and then right before clicking on recovery I plug the USB in. When I go into the command prompt and type "adb devices" I get that the device is located but offline. Re-seated the USB cable and still shows offline even though the instructions say it should say its in recovery mode afterwards.