• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Nexus One in Korea

jok52

Lurker
Hi, so my Verizon contract ended recently and I was thinking of getting the Nexus One. I read that the Verizon version will be released in spring but will be CDMA instead of GSM. I am a college student and want to get this phone and use it back home ( Korea) during summer break.

So here are the questions:

If I get the Nexus One with the T-mobile contract ($180) will I be able to switch the sim card and use it in Korea as well?

If the verizon version is released (CDMA) will I be able to use it overseas (korea)?

What will my bill be? Will I pay my regular monthly fee in Korea while I'm in Korea?

I was wondering if the Nexus One can be used in Korea and the States and if so, how? Thanks for all your help.

Tmobile is pretty friendly about unlocking phones. All you require is a 90 day period after you get the phone, then you can call t-mobile customer service and they will send you an unlock code (this can take up to a week or two). The phone will work on Korea's WCDMA networks or GSM networks by roaming....

BUT and this is a HUGE but... If you want to get a cellular account in korea, the cell system works in a strange way here. Instead of an IMEI blacklist like the US uses, Korea has an IMEI whitelist. What does this mean? Korea keeps a list of the digital serial numbers of every phone able to get onto the cell networks in the country. If your phone isn't on that list, you can't get on the network with a korean carrier, you can only go roaming with your US carrier and that can get expensive. There's a way to get your phone put onto the list, but it requires extensive testing to make sure your phone follows korean laws, and the testing is quite expensive (something around $400-500 was quoted to me).