• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help 'OK Google' stopped working - LG G3 - KitKat

I recently realized my 'Ok Google' stopped working on my LG G3 running KitKat and I'm not sure why. I'm really a beginner at discussing this stuff so let me know what specific info I should provide. Here are some notes:

- 'Ok Google' works in Safe Mode, but not in standard mode
- I made sure my Google Voice settings were turned on and updated my voice data
- I deleted apps I thought may be affecting it like Commandr and AutoVoice
- All my Google Play apps are up to date

Please let me know what other info I can provide or if anyone has suggestions I can test.

Thank you all!

Welcome to Android Forums.

If it works in Safe Mode and not in normal ... an app you added is causing the problem. Keep looking.

... Thom

I don't add many apps so I've uninstalled most of what I've added in the last few months. The home screen I have WITH the Google search widget will recognize "Ok Google" but other screens will not, even though I have Ok Google detection set with "From any screen". Any other settings I should look for?

For the best exposure I moved your thread to the forum dedicated to your device. Ot's the best place to find other users of your device.

(I am using a Droid Turbo and the Motorola version of this capability is quite different from yours.)

... Thom

Thanks!

Also, is there any way to see what apps are running in safe mode and which are running in standard mode?
Apps not running in safe mode simply aren't running.
Just go to settings > applications > running apps & you'll see what is running.
If you don't see it there,it's not running.

Nevermind... it doesn't work in Safe Mode either. It only works on a screen that has a Google search bar widget now. I didn't realize it when I was first testing Safe Mode.