• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Overclocking newbie

lucidstate

Nov 11, 2009
Ok so I'm just starting out with rooting, custom ROMs, and overclocking. I got as far as installing cyanogenmod 6.1RC4, Now I'm trying to overclock. I installed setCPU and adjusted it up to the max it would allow: 800MHz. I've seen in comments people mentioning that they're running @ 1.2 GHz. Do I need a different app to do that? Or is there a setting in setCPU that I need to change. More importantly, should I be going any higher than 800? Does anyone have a link to a decent guide on overclocking a Droid 1?

if you want to go past 800mHz, you will need to install a new kernel. this is actually very easy if you already know how to flash a ROM. the only tricky part is that all droids react differently to different kernels. while some people can run all the way up to 1.25gHz at ultra low voltage with no problem, others will not boot when going above 800 even on standard voltage. if you are happy with the way your phone performs at 800, leave it alone, if you would like to see a little more speed, go with 1gHz. they seem to be stable on 90% of droids. from what i have seen, there are 3 main kernel makers for the D1.

chevyno1:
Index of /froyo/kernels3

slayher:
http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/4434-froyo-kernels-by-slayher/

p3droid:
P3Droid Kernels

just remember that each version will cause slightly different battery drain, operating temperature, and performance and that you may have to try a few before you can really decide which one you want to run on a daily basis. as for going past 1gHz, i really haven't noticed a huge performance gain running at 1.2. the change from 800mHz to 1gHz was much more noticeable, but i continue to run a 1.2 kernel simply because my phone can handle it well.