• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

P20 lite

tommy70

Lurker
Would like to know easiest way to root, if there's any easy way 🤔🙄 and maybe point me in right direction thanks

I'm not that tech savvy so the lingo there escapes me 😎 guess I'll read again lol
well that is why we are here. we can help try and break it down for you if you need help. main thing is read and read and then read so more first, before attempting to root it. main thing is do the research and time before diving in. and please ask questions as well here.

ok after reading. it is a bit more difficult (i think English is a 2nd language here) so understanding it is a much slower process.

@tommy70
, has your P20 Lite been updated to Pie 9.0, EMUI 9? Because the XDA posted rooting methods, are for P20 Lite with Nougat 7.0 or Oreo 8.0. And were last updated before Huawei rolled out Pie 9.0 AFAICT.

Why do you need to root it?

Nope, apparently I'm the only one in United States that seemingly didn't receive it FML ,I'm region locked in Panama so thinking that's an issue, huawei has the best phones but the most invasive manufacturer

Nope, apparently I'm the only one in United States that seemingly didn't receive it FML ,I'm region locked in Panama so thinking that's an issue, huawei has the best phones but the most invasive manufacturer

I'm interested, because I have a China variant Mate 10, and it received the Pie, EMUI 9 update notification while I was in the UK in February, which would have gone through in the UK, but I waited until I was back in Beijing to do the OS update. And it had other security patch updates when I'd been in the UK previously.

I've had the Mate 10 for over a year now. And still completely happy with it, and there's really still nothing out there that makes me want to change phones. It's not rooted, as I have no need. So can't really help you with rooting a Huawei, other than what's already posted over on XDA.