• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Please help me optimize my gt s-5570

nicospanas

Jan 26, 2015
I have a GT S-5570 (movistar) s5570xwks2 with android 2.3.5. It is very slow, slower than death and I believe this is because of the little free memory that is left (internal 38.1 MB, system ROM 30.2). Few months ago I rooted it in order to remove some of the pre-installed crap, but since I had to install several other things in the process (titanium, busybox, SU, su validator) as well as to back up the pre-installed crap in case I ever needed to restore it to factory defaults, I did not see much difference. Also, as I am no expert I was not sure which things I could actually remove without causing a malfunction.

I haven't installed very large applications, the largest being whatsup 30.29 (then google play store 20.79 and es file explorer 9.29). I have actually installed only apps that I need.

So, I was wondering if there is any custom rom that is lightweight and without major bugs that I could flash, that may resolve my issue.

Also, I would like to know where can I get a stock rom and recovery in case things go south, so that I can restore it to factory settings.

And last, as I am new to these things, I would appreciate few steps for how to flash the custom rom and recovery (preferably TWRP), as well as from where can I get a custom recovery for my model.

Last edited:
I tried a couple of custom roms but I had problems with google play store, wouldn't let me install apps. I'm thinking of flashing a stock rom and start all over but I have two problems. First I can't seem to find the right stock rom for my mobile. Will any of the stock roms for gt s5570 do?