• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Root vs. Custom ROM without root?

zanthal

the Optimus V is my first smartphone, and thus I've got nooberiffic questions for the experienced folks.

I'm new to smartphones, but as for most all other PC tech subjects, I'm already familiar with, which is why I feel like I can read all the instructions and manage to root and flash a custom ROM, or just do the latter without causing any harm to my phone.

However, I'm only able to find at best vague answers as to the "why" of doing it in the first place.

If what I've read is correct, then there are apps out there that can't be installed on the Optimus V without it being rooted first. I don't have or currently need any other apps than I already have, so this doesn't really apply to me.

Also, I've read that you can flash a custom ROM without rooting.

To cover all my bases, I'll just ask:

• Can an android application be found and transferred to your OV from your PC, and be installed without rooting?

• What are some examples of apps that cannot be installed without rooting?

Thanks in advance for the time spent answering these questions for me, I'm sure you get them a lot. :)

UPDATE: I've found a thread that explains the benefits of rooting, which I'm going to scour for info now. I would though still be happy to hear anyone's answers.

Since I myself am still kind of new to root/roming I'll play it safe and say.. not that I'm aware of.

• Can an android application be found and transferred to your OV from your PC, and be installed without rooting?
Yes. You can move an app from your pc to your phone via USB. This is called sideloading. You can then install the app from your SD card without being rooted (as long as the app itself does not require root).