It's basically Samsung's way of sending you a message that some update or other "something" is available for your phone. Normally you can shut it off, but if they find some big glaring security hole, or something that's going to cause your phone to turn into a paper weight, you're going to want to know about it. (If you have it turned off and the phone dies because you missed a notice, that could void the warranty.)