• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

SD Card Problem

AngelG44

Lurker
Hey, everyone! So, I've been using my Nvidia Shield tablet for about 6 months now. I got a new SD card when I started using the tablet. I formatted it to my tablet and have been using it to store my apps, photos, videos, downloaded files etc. ever since. Well, for the past month or so I've been having troubles with my tablet where apps weren't working or constantly freezing up. I tried everything other than a factory reset.

So, I finally did a factory reset. I removed my SD Card beforehand. Well, now that I have my tablet up and running, I tried to insert my SD card back into the tablet and I get a message that says "Unsupported SD card....This device doesn't support this SD card. Touch to set up in a supported format."

How can I fix this? I've only ever used this SD card on this device. Are my files gone forever? If I can't get it to work on my tablet without formatting it (deleting all my files), then is there some way I can send all of the files to a different device so I don't lose everything? Please help.

If you have another SD card, try to insert it in the tablet to see if you get the same message.

Copy all the SD card content to a PC just in case.
So, I can get a Mini SD card to USB adapter and connect it to my Macbook Pro and I should be able to put all of my files from SD card onto laptop? Sorry, never really worked with SD cards before.

So, I can get a Mini SD card to USB adapter and connect it to my Macbook Pro and I should be able to put all of my files from SD card onto laptop? Sorry, never really worked with SD cards before.
Yes you can use a card reader to copy files from the SD card to PC and vice versa.