• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Skype question for Note - notification widget?

salla43

Hi,

I am new to Android and my beloved Note is my first Android device, in fact.

I have a skype query. Does anyone know how to flag a new chat message from skype without actually having to look at the skype screen? I can't stand the sound notifications and would like to know if anyone knows of a widget or addon which will allow this?

Other wise i am more than pleased with the Note. I had a Nokia N900 before and the Note is everything that promised to be and more. The Nokia more often than not, did not work, it was just a bonus if an app actually loaded, haha! It was sluggish and impractical to use. This is a revelation!!!

Hi Salla,

I also moved to the Note from the N900 (although I loved the N900 to bits, I just wanted more of a tablet to watch hidef videos/youtube).

To answer your question: You don't need any additional widgets. When you get a new skype message a speech bubble appears in the status bar (top left of the phone). Now, it would be great if it also showed up on the lock screen, but we cannot have it all.

Hope this helps...

Regards,
Eric.

Hi Salla,

I also moved to the Note from the N900 (although I loved the N900 to bits, I just wanted more of a tablet to watch hidef videos/youtube).

To answer your question: You don't need any additional widgets. When you get a new skype message a speech bubble appears in the status bar (top left of the phone). Now, it would be great if it also showed up on the lock screen, but we cannot have it all.

Hope this helps...

Regards,
Eric.

Thanks. I dont get the speech bubble :( - is it a configurable option? Its exactly this which I want - ie the indication in the status bar!