• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Dodgy1

Apr 16, 2011
New Zealand
Hey all. I have recently installed handcent sms on my android powered samsung galaxy. It's a good little app that I'm more then happy with. The problem I have is that when I get a message notification the samsung sms opens as well. How do I tell my phone I only want the handcent app to open?? I'm very new to all this android stuff so please any help will be appreciated.

Not a dumb question at all. As a rule of thumb, you adjust notification settings for apps in each app.

Yeah i've tried that but im still getting the stock sms poping up when I get a message its rather annoying having to close it then open the handcent app ....there must be a way to stop it.I'm a little dissapointed that a phone like the samsung has very basic settings for sending sms...you can't even increase the size of the font etc...

Upvote 0
Yeah i've tried that but im still getting the stock sms poping up when I get a message its rather annoying having to close it then open the handcent app ....there must be a way to stop it.I'm a little dissapointed that a phone like the samsung has very basic settings for sending sms...you can't even increase the size of the font etc...

I am quite satisfied with the app. All i need in a sms app is to be able to type and send. Nothing more. This is why we have the android market - so you can look for better apps if you require more. If you have a phone that comes with all the app you will ever need, who needs the market?

Btw I digress. To completely stop the Samsung sms app, you are going to have to uninstall or freeze it, and that means rooting your phone.

Upvote 0