The files I changed were the recovery file and the xbin folder - I did this while trying to get the lagfix working, but needed the 3e? version of the recovery file in order to do it. I had upgraded to Froyo via Kies, which worked fine.
If I did a factory reset, what state does it leave the phone in? Would it go back to Eclair or back to froyo as at the upgrade point?