• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Why does my phone screen black out early?

THIGV

Mar 15, 2014
I have a Samsung Tab 3 Lite which in Asia is sold as a phablet with a phone component. I am not sure if this is a Samsung or an Android problem but about 30 seconds into a phone call the screen blacks out although the conversation is active. The only way to get it to come back on is to hit the on/off button on the top right which sometimes hangs up the call. This is particularly frustrating in automated calls that require keyboard input. This is true regardless of the screen setting for normal timeout.

Is this normal?

I have no personal experience of your device but this sounds like a bit of schizophrenia, with parts like the screen inactivity timeout thinking its just a tablet and ignoring the fact that there's an active phone call going on.

I can only suggest you try a different dialler app (from the Play store) and see if that helps. There may be options in the dialler to prevent the display from going into sleep mode.

Upvote 0
There is an app called Keepscreen that will keep your screen on while you use certain apps (user definable list). Maybe it will work for the dialer. It's a bit of a kludge, but it might get you where you need to be.

I know Android dialers are designed to blank the screen when you hold them to your ear so you don't accidentally press a key with your cheek. Perhaps you get a little close to your proximity sensor?

Upvote 0
There is an app called Keepscreen that will keep your screen on while you use certain apps (user definable list). Maybe it will work for the dialer. It's a bit of a kludge, but it might get you where you need to be.

I know Android dialers are designed to blank the screen when you hold them to your ear so you don't accidentally press a key with your cheek. Perhaps you get a little close to your proximity sensor?