• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

wuts all the rooting about..........

deenga

Lurker
Hello droiders, im new to the android phone and im just curious as to what does it mean when you say you rooted your droid, is it something any1 can or even should do. Thanks just curious:confused:

We are not "droiders." That is strictly a Verizon thing. We use an ANDROID and thus we are androiders. ;)

I'll answer your last question first...NO! It is not for everyone, and the truth is if you don't know what it is to root or even what it does, you have no need or reason to root. Not trying to be a jerk but its true because there are risks to your device involved.

Now your first question: Rooting gives you Administrative control over every aspect of the system which allows you do edit and delete system files. One example is deleting pre-installed apps that you don't use for instance. It is not for the unprepared, or uneducated (about the root process). It does void your warranty and in some cases can brick your phone entirely. With the MT3G Slide it is not an easy process like on other phones. RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH...google is your friend! Do not jump into this lightly...make sure you are totally comfortable with the process and take the time to understand what is really happening to your device before attempting to root.

I'd like to jump in and say that there are quite a few more benefits to that.