• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Fears unfounded?

chimphappyhour

Android Enthusiast
So I am doing a bit of research before this phone launches on T-Mobile tomorrow. The reviews I had read seemed to be not too shabby. Then I got here and started reading about the cracked screens and the less than stellar info about the camera's performance.

What appealed to me about this phone is the camera and the water resistance. I'm a photographer and have been pretty pleased with how my Note 2 does when taking photos for a cellphone. I also like to run outside and always worry about rain and sweat when I'm running with my phone.

But the issues people are having with phones cracking out of the blue and the comparisons of the various cameras are giving me second thoughts about picking this phone up tomorrow. So I figured I'd see what experience others are currently having?

Compared with the Galaxy S3, the camera is extremely disappointing. Video compression is much too high and in spite of the many user complaints registered worldwide, Sony has not done anything to remedy that problem. :(

Video compression is much too high and in spite of the many user complaints registered worldwide, Sony has not done anything to remedy that problem. :(

Hmm, reports I've read from users with the .423 (Android 4.2.2) update suggest that the camera has been improved. I'm not able to judge for myself though as the update is yet to be rolled out to generic UK handsets.

As to the mysterious screen cracking issue, all I can say is that my own is still pristine after four months of use. None of my customers who bought Zs have reported cracked screens either.... apart from one that was dropped onto a stone floor at a party. :(

The weather-proofing is a nice touch if, like me, your phone goes everywhere with you. The last thing I need when caught in bad weather in a remote area is the worry of my phone dying.