Phone : Settings : Account : @gmail.com
Here you are presented with a list of things to sync or not sync.
Email, contacts, etc. Photos can be synced here as well. This is different than g+ auto backup.
OPs question is a good one: What is the difference?
Where are they stored? How are they managed?