• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help I want a Note - a few questions for owners

candroid11

Sep 21, 2011
I am interested in upgrading from my Nexus S to a Note. I love big screens, and some of the functionality also seems useful to me. I will be starting a Masters program in September. As a student I have been interested in getting a tablet for the functionality of it, but I don't really want both a phone and a tablet, plus a laptop. I am intrigued by the Note because it seems large enough to be suitable as a tablet, while still acting as a phone. As owners, would you guys say that the Note is completely suitable for your needs? Is that screen big enough to be suitable as a tablet? I am mainly interested in using it for reading (ebooks and pdfs) and possibly note taking with the s pen. Do you think the Note can deliver on these needs? I'm also wondering if the Note allows the user to write notes with the s pen over top of a pdf document or ebook, and if these notes can be saved to the document permanently.

Any recommendation on carriers in Canada? I would have to switch since Koodo doesn't offer the note. I would naturally go to Telus since they own Koodo and it would be easy to switch over, but if another company would be better, feel free to say.

Also, has there been an announcement about when the Note will be getting the ICS upgrade? It will feel sucky to downgrade back to gingerbread.

1. I have a 7" Archos 70it tablet that is barely used now because I enjoy my Note that much.
2. You can use it as reader nicely. You can even hold the s-pen button, long touch any screen with it to initiate screen capture, and annotate the captured image with the s-pen afterward. You can not use it on the source documents though, CMIIW.
3. ICS is coming in this quarter with several premium apps in tow for free :)

Upvote 0
You can read stuff great on the Note.