• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Newb to the Droid X 2.3.3 Root... Need help

Poseidon126

Jul 25, 2010
Hey guys

So after having this phone for over a year, I finally decided to get it rooted. Just 10 minutes ago, I rooted this phone using the One-click method I got from this website:

How to: Root the DROID2, DROIDX2, DROIDX, and DROID3 Running Gingerbread - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

It all went over very smoothly to my surprise, especially since I have been known to almost ALWAYS run into some sort of technical issue with any kind of device as I am not very technically fluent with most technology.

Now, I mainly rooted my X for the Hotspot access, and hearing about all this amazing stuff I can do... But here is the thing...

How the HECK do I get started? I look around at my phone and I can barely see anything different. What I'm asking is, How do I get started?

Need to help me out here, I mean, I have no idea what a ROM is, about to go look that up right now though.

Any help would be great, point me to some Droid X Root guides would be awesome as well.

Thanks in advance guys!
Poseidon

Reactions: bswnyca
Like poseidon suggested I tried Garden and it *appears* to work. I have to try it out later though as I didn't try and connect any devices to it.

As far as noticing a difference on your phone, you won't. Rooting a phone is like taking the governor off your car. You won't notice any difference unless you take advantage of your new abilities! Some things I would suggest you try (In order from ease/chance of problems)

1. Get Titanium Back for root users. This app allows you to back up your applications AND their data. This way if you ever need to factory reset your phone your apps don't need to be redownloaded. PLUS you keep your data, so no more starting over in Angry Birds! :p It's an essential app no rooted user should be without so it gets it's own number section!