• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Not a Newbie But Some Basic Questions Please

rozel

Oct 2, 2011
UK
Hi

I have been using my phone for a few months now and am delighted with it. I have rooted it and am reasonably familiar with CPW and Titanium Backup, in that I know what each can do, even though I haven't used them yet.

After browsing on here for a few months and using my phone to get familiar with it, I have some questions and would be grateful if someone could let me have an answer or two: -

1. I saw a home screen recently which had a shortcut on it to Mobile networks/Use packet data. How was this done/what program was used to create it etc?

2. When I first got my phone I configured the phone to only switch on WiFi when the screen was active. For the life of me I do not know how I did this. Recently this setting has been lost and the WiFi is on constantly. When I am at home I would like it to switch off when the screen goes off and comes on when active. The only thing I can find is "WiFi Sleep policy, which I have configured to "When screen turns off". However after my screen switches off and I turn it back on, I do not see any signs of it having been off - ie; I do not see it switching back on like it used to do, by observing the top notifications bar. This is a drain on my battery - yesterday I noticed that it had been on all the time I was at work - over 10 hours - and the battery reduced by 50%, which is not what it used to do. In WiFi Settings, even though I am locked on to my home wifi, the phone is constantly scanning away every few seconds - I would like it to stop doing this when connected. Any thoughts etc please?