• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Other countries and 2.0.1

Hey! Question for whoever may know this
I'm new with this so bare with me :p

I'm in Canada at the moment and I wish to purchase the unlocked milestone from a known mobile site

I looked up the reviews and saw that the keyboard was one of its main flaws but then I came across all these bugs (auto focus, bad cycles/etc, and low battery) that were solved by the 2.0.1 that came out a few days back

Will I be able to update to 2.0.1 or no because I'm in Canada?
Are the updates by country that the phone is available to, which means by carrier?
or is it by Motorola Asia/Euro/North America?

yes u can update to 2.0.1.. im in toronto with a milestone from hk..ive had the update for a while now

Settings - About Phone - System updates - there are 2 (or 3 when it says that the update is downloading) posible answers to this: 1 - Server is busy, try again later - means that the server is offline, 2 - Your system is up to date (if you have the 2.0 you should be happy cose the server is online and maybe is preparing the goodie 2.0.1... or you already have it).
I'm in Germany and waiting for a few weeks the update... till today I had the 1 answer becomed... but today I received the second answer (and heard a rumor that tomorrow the 2.0.1 will be availble for us too...)

How does the update thing work?
Like, why do some people have the update and others have to wait? I don't have to wait if I live in Toronto?

I have sort of the same question, i bought a milestone in in Italy non branded and I am wondering wether i will be able to get the 2.0.1 update, because i have read somewhere that non carrier phones are unable to update, because so far it says that i am still up to date (i use vodafone).