• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Please Help Me To Understand?????

mlsa

Oct 8, 2011
Ok guys, I'm going to show my ignorance here.

I need some help understanding a couple of things. I've been reading on another site about TickerGuy's Cyanogen Mod7 installation and Isaac's MIUI installation for the Triumph.

I have some questions maybe some of you can help me with. The CM7...what is the purpose of this installation. Does it speed things up...is it just a different operating system? Does it help lock 3G better? Can someone give me some things it does? Also does anybody know if they ever got the CM7 working with the GPS or not? My GPS works fine and I don't want to lose it.

I read some on the MIUI and think I understand it. I do have a question though. Does it work with the CM7 or are they not compatable with each other.

I appreciate any help you can give me. I'm new to all of this but it's very interesting. But I would like to understand it more before I do any of it.

David

Ok guys, I'm going to show my ignorance here.

I need some help understanding a couple of things. I've been reading on another site about TickerGuy's Cyanogen Mod7 installation and Isaac's MIUI installation for the Triumph.

I have some questions maybe some of you can help me with. The CM7...what is the purpose of this installation. Does it speed things up...is it just a different operating system?
CM7 is a version of Android 2.3.x (a.k.a. Gingerbread). It is a newer version of Android than what the phone is shipped with. It is slightly different than the stock versions of 2.3.x, but is based off of that code and has some added features and options.

Does it help lock 3G better?
It does not effect your signal strength. Not for 3G, not for wifi, not for voice.

Can someone give me some things it does?