I'm not sure what you want to do exactly, but clear defaults is for when you choose that app to run a certain command every time. Like when you click a YouTube link, you can usually choose to either watch it in the web browser or in the YouTube app. If you choose to have YouTube open those links everyone, the clear defaults option will be selectable and will let you choose how to run that command again