• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Rolling back to 2.3.4 - will i lose my data?

I absolutely hate 2.3.6 (battery, wifi connection issues, blue bumper, no double tap home button, etc).

I want to roll back to 2.3.4 using this method on galaxys2root

How to Unroot AT&T Galaxy S2! [SGH-i777] | Galaxy S2 Root

However, my one concern is that I will lose all my data. Has anyone done this unrooting method before? Will all my contacts, music, photos, tasker profiles, settings, apps, etc be removed? That is anything that's not saved on my sd card?

If so, what is the best way to perform a full backup before unrooting?
 
I havent done it on this phone, but if its anything like the captivate you will lose all your apps and their data. you should still have your pictures and music but it can go wrong and you will lose all of it. you can use titanium backup to backup your apps and their data, not pictures and music though. and there always is the chance of bricking the phone
 
I use MyBackup Pro. Figured it would be worth the investment, since I intend to dabble in flashing ROMs.

The pro version is, apparently, $4.99. I think I managed to find it someplace else for $2.99. Either way, it has plenty of options for backing up files, apps, data, etc. I haven't had to use it to restore anything yet, so I can't verify how well/easily it works. Also, there are apparently more features for those who have root access. I haven't re-rooted since updating to 2.3.6, so I don't know how well they work.

I also backup my text message conversations with SMS Backup+.

Prior to purchasing MyBackup Pro, I also used App Backup & Restore.

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.rerware.android.MyBackupPro&hl=en

I'm not trying to do any advertising here, but if you're doing backups, you may as well let an app do it for you. Otherwise just connect your phone to your computer and copy files to a backup folder or something.
 
My understanding is if you don't do the reset at the end, you won't loose your apps. You might HAVE to do the reset if you have the "wifi bug" which occurs when flashing back. But I don't know of a good way to back up before flashing.
 
Back
Top Bottom