• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Rooted Droid 1 to Unrooted Droid 3: Still worth it?

I was about to post this in the "all things root" section, but I wasn't sure if I should since my post focuses a bit more on the lack of root.

I've been using the original Droid 1 for a couple of years now, and have had it rooted for most of that time. Even though it doesn't seem to be supported any more, I still use the UD 2.5 ROM and I love it.

Well I'm due for an upgrade and discounts and have everything I need to walk into Verizon and pick up the Droid 3, however I've been really hesitant because I'm sooooo used to having a rooted Droid.

For someone who is used to a rooted Droid 1, do you think moving on to an UNrooted Droid 3 is still worth it? I know a lot of people upgraded from the D1 to the D3. I'd love to get as many opinions as possible about this so that I can feel better about whatever decision I make.

Thanks in advance.

You'll likely get widely varying opinion on that. ;)

Coming from a rooted Fascinate to the Droid 3 did remind me of the bloatware annoyance; I was spoiled by my well pared down app drawer, for sure, as I look at all this &*&%$#!! crap in my D3. :D

But it's fast, stock. The keyboard is great, solid and set up just right for my uses.

...etc.

Heck, it'll be exploited at some point down the road anyway. Probably about the time the Droid 4 hits the stores. :eek:

Coming from a rooted Fascinate to the Droid 3 did remind me of the bloatware annoyance; I was spoiled by my well pared down app drawer, for sure, as I look at all this &*&%$#!! crap in my D3. :D

Yeah that really annoys me too. I noticed some kind of NFL app in there. Isn't that an irremovable stock app, too? I hate football. I don't need that. I seriously don't understand why these developers force us to have these useless apps on our devices we pay for.

Thanks for your input. I'm eager to see what others have to say.