• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root SetCPU: Max, Min, ondemand? Help Please...

shaggylouie

May 11, 2010
I need help with SetCPU (bought on the market). I see two bars - Max and Min and I see Scaling ondemand etc... I want to set a fast speed for "up time" and a slow speed for "down time" to save on battery life. After reading, I figured 710MHz is good, but what is what?

I'm very new to root (liking it so far - xtrROM 3.03) but I would like clear instructions how to set this properly on this app.

Currently have only set Max 710 and Min 710 ondemand. You guys have been awesome. Any more help would be appreciated!!!

-Shaggylouie

What kernal are you using? I've never seen a 710 setting on any kernel. You may need to refresh your device selection (open setcpu > touch menu button > device selection > autodetect).

I use on demand for everything and works flawlessly.

As for "down time" settings: I use SetCPU's profile options. i.e. screen off would be a lower clock speed cause i'm not using the phone.

Upvote 0
What kernal are you using? I've never seen a 710 setting on any kernel. You may need to refresh your device selection (open setcpu > touch menu button > device selection > autodetect).

As for "down time" settings: I use SetCPU's profile options. i.e. screen off would be a lower clock speed cause i'm not using the phone.

Kernal version: 2.6.29 zanfur@gandalf #46

I set the 710 setting. I then checked "set on boot". What is on demand? Sorry, I am very new and don't know much about this.

Upvote 0

710MHz is not an uncommon o/c speed for some kernels. The one I use, Ivanmmj's Eris Official 1.0 comes kernel-locked at 710MHz (its highest setting). You can flash Zanfur's o/c kernel patch to go higher if wanted/needed.

Kernal version: 2.6.29 zanfur@gandalf #46

I set the 710 setting. I then checked "set on boot". What is on demand? Sorry, I am very new and don't know much about this.